Chilli flakes, Eggshells and Green Pastures

I put chilli flakes in my tea today. I just wanted that familiar ‘zing’ to tickle my tastebuds and remind me of Nepali meals that were so spicy they’d make me cry.

The first thing I noticed being back Down Under is the silence. No dogs barking, no electrical boxes fusing, no horns honking, people yelling, cows mooing. I can hear the clock ticking. I can hear the heater rumbling. I can feel the silence and it’s heavy.

There are some lovely things about being back. It’s a joy to stand under the water-saving shower head that squirts out even streams of hot water that I can safely drink. Talking to people that have an intimate understanding of the English language and familiar accents is a treat. As is having prewashed fruits and vegetables that don’t need soaking in iodine to make them safe to consume!

There are also hard things, just as I suspected. But not for the reasons I presumed. People have been incredibly kind and warm. They care. I’ve had several wonderful servings of catch-ups with dear friends, lots of ‘how are your feels?’ from my Mum, and fun story-telling times about goats and buffalos and God moments.

What’s hard is diving back into a culture where the current moves at a frightening pace. I have a routine again. People expect me to be at certain places at certain times and arriving on ‘Nepali time’ is kinda funny once and then just plain rude after that. Social gatherings are less frequent and fluid and more structured and scheduled.

What’s hard is watching the Bible go from being a staple to a snack. I’ve come from a place where due to language barriers, the main thing that bound me together with other Christians was the Bible. This encouraged me to read it and desire it more and more. I’ve come from a place where Christians can’t seem to get enough of the Bible, to a place where it’s hardly even read. Sorry Australia. It’s not just me being a crazy person, either… I have statistics! Apparently only 1 in 5 Aussie Christians read their Bible daily. That makes me sad.

What’s hard is encountering so many varied worldviews all at once. It seems painfully ironic that a society that boasts so many freedoms like freedom of speech and freedom of religion, I feel terribly suffocated. I get tongue-tied trying to express myself. Navigating my way around political correctness is a bit painful as the eggshells I tread on hurt my feet.

But what’s keeping me grounded is the tiny voice that whispers through the chaos, reminding me of God’s faithfulness and constant nature. He is the same God that He was in Nepal. I’m confident in Him. He will show me how to wade confidently in the choppy waters of my culture and not be swallowed up or dragged down. He will stoke up my passion for his Word and help me desire it even when it’s not popular. He will untie my tongue, guide me off the eggshells and onto green pastures and beside still waters, and show me how to be at peace with the truth He has planted in my heart.

‘The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
Forever.’

PSALM 23

Leave a comment